Parnassius Piano Duo

Parnassius Piano Duo

© B. Ealovega

“Simon Callaghan and Hiroaki Takenouchi… play with such love, panache, and exact synchronisation”

BBC Music Magazineread the review in full

Parnassius Piano Duo (Simon Callaghan and Hiroaki Takenouchi)
began playing together in 2003, at the initiation of their teacher, the late Yonty Solomon.

Their second disc of Delius arrangements will be released in 2013, completingthe set of world premiere recordings.

As well as playing all the mainstream works for both piano-four hands and two pianos, Callaghan and Takenouchi are particularly keen advocates of lesser-known repertoire, having recently included works by Parry, Medtner and Sterndale Bennett in their programmes.

Parnassius Piano Duo is represented by Tashmina Artists.

For bookings and enquiries please contact:

Sally Richardson
Tashmina Artists
63, Cambridge Street
London SW1V 4PS
Phone: +44 (0) 20 7976 5041
Email: info@tashmina.co.uk






© B. Ealovega

© B. Ealovega

Piano duet programme 1

J.C. Bach: Sonata in C Op.15 No.6 [10’]
Mozart: Sonata in A KV521 [23’]
Fauré: Dolly Suite Op.56 [14’]

Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring [32’]
Copland (arr. Bernstein): El Salón México [11’]

Piano duet programme 2

Mozart: Sonata in F KV497 [24’]
Ravel: Ma mère l’oye
Schubert: Sonata in C “Grand Duo” D.812 [40’]

© H. Takenouchi

© H. Takenouchi

Two piano programme 1

Mozart: Larghetto & Allegro in E flat (completed by A. Stadler) [8’]
Debussy: En blanc et noir [14’]
Saint-Saëns (arr. Debussy): Introduction & Rondo Capriccioso Op.28 [9’]
OR Liszt: Concerto Pathétique [10’]
Brahms: Haydn Variations in B flat Op.56b [18’]
OR Parry: Großes Duo in E minor [21’]
Barber: Souvenirs [19’]

Two piano programme 2

Mozart: Sonata in D KV448 [24’]
Manuel Infante (1883-1958): 3 Danses Andalouses [14’]
Delius (arr. P. Warlock): Brigg Fair – An English Rhapsody [16’]
Rachmaninov: Suite No.2 Op.17 [23’]

Skip to toolbar